Final Countdown..

puppies

We’re getting excited here at Elkhorn Mountain Saints! Today’s day 61 for Goldie, and we expect puppies in a few days. Goldie’s much bigger and slower, but just as well-behaved as ever. She’s been spending much more time sleeping indoors and less time romping around in the field. Also,  which is somewhat disturbing to me, but very understandable considering her condition, is her complete lack of appetite. She has barely eaten anything…she hasn’t eaten any kibble, only some chewies. Today I did get her to eat some leftovers from our church potluck, which she readily enjoyed…but I still wish she’d eat regular dog food! I don’t expect her to EVER turn up her nose from ham and rolls, though.

We are hoping for around eight pups. She seems to conceal her pups better than our other dog we’ve previously bred, but that is usual in the larger breeds with bigger chests. I’ve begun assembling supplies for when she goes into labor— extra sheets and blankets, puppy pads, a thermometer, rubber gloves, etc.

Bomber has no idea what’s going on. He seems to think that Goldie should be playing with him like she did three months ago. Today as I let her out to do her business, he was waiting for her at the door. He proceeded to drag her about by her ear, leg, tail, neck ( all very gently and in a Bomber-like fashion, of course) in the attempt to get her to play. Of course, she would have none of this and tried to ignore him. I just find it funny that he can’t even see that she’s getting slower and has no desire to romp around in the field with him right now! It’ll be interesting to see his reaction to the pups when they arrive…

I plan on posting every day, if I can, during the final countdown. We can’t wait for them to come!

Leave a comment